The City of Peru, Indiana

Circus Capital of the World

City Council

The common council, or City Council, is both the legislative and the fiscal body. Every four years, residents of the City of Peru elect seven members to serve as the Common Council.

The Council consists of one part-time member from each of five districts plus two "at large" members. A member is not subject to term limits and may run for re-election as often as they wish.

A Council member must have been a resident of the district from which he or she is elected for at least six months before the election, and a resident of the city for at least one year.

The Common Council may pass ordinances, orders, motions and resolutions for the government of the City of Peru, the control of the city's property and finances and the appropriation of money.


Brian Holland

District 1: Blane Holland 

*Liaison to Animal Control, City Officials and Fire Department and member of the Tax Abate Review Committee and Peru Historic Preservation Committee.

Tom Gustin

District 2: Tom Gustin

*Member of City Ordinance Review Cable TV Committee, Solid Waste Commission, Central Dispatch Committee & Peru Historic Preservation Committee. Liaison to County Government, and Street Department. 

Phyllis Torrence

District 3: Phyllis Torrence 

*Council Vice President, Member of the City Ordinance Review, Future Growth Committee, Tax Abate Review Committee, Liaison to Civic Center, Peru Planning Commission and Wage Negotiations.

Cheryl Lee

District 4: Cheryl Lee

*Member of City Ordinance Review, Tax Abate Review Committee and Peru Historic Preservation Committee.  Liaison to the Park Board.

Terry Alley

District 5: Terry Alley

*Member of Central Dispatch Committee. Liaison to County Government, Police Department and the Utility Service Board.

Kurt Krauskopf

At Large: Kurt Krauskopf

*Council President. Liaison to Aviation Board. Member of Cable TV Committee and Future Growth Committee.

Jan Languell

At Large: Jan Languell

*Liaison to Board of Works, MCEDA, Utility Service Board and Wage Negotiations. Member of Future Growth Committee.

The City Council meets the first Monday of every month, holidays notwithstanding, at 6 p.m. in the council chambers at City Hall, 35 S. Broadway, Peru, IN 46970.

Contact Us

City Hall
35 S Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Get Directions

More Information