The City of Peru, Indiana

Circus Capital of the World

Board of Works

The Board of Works consists of the Mayor and two mayoral appointees who serve four year terms. The Clerk-Treasurer is the clerk of the BOW. The board’s function includes control of law enforcement, fire safety, street, sanitation, and traffic.


Board of Works Members include:

-Mayor Miles Hewitt, by virtue of office

-Ron Dausch, Building Commissioner 

-Bill Gornto, Code Enforcement Officer

-Dustin Kern, City Attorney 

-Erick Hawk, Fire Chief

-Dan Sofianos, Police Chief

-Todd Wolfe, Traffic Supervisor 


BOW meets the 1st and 3rd Tuesday of every month at 5pm in City Council Chambers.

Click here to watch past Board of Works meetings.

Click the "Useful Links" tab for a Board of Works agenda request. 

Contact Us

City Hall
35 S Broadway
Peru, IN 46970
Get Directions

In this Department

More Info